About Us

Information about the College & Mission Statement

Established in 1991, the Irish College of Ophthalmologists (ICO) is the recognised training and professional body for medical and surgical eye doctors in Ireland.

Our overarching mission is to advance developments and improvements in eye health and patient safety by:
Providing the highest standards of excellence in the training and on-going education of Eye Doctors and other Medical Practitioners ; Advocating on behalf of patients role through policy guidance to Government, Health Care Providers and State Agencies; Collaborating with patient support groups on our shared goals ;
Educating the public to help increase awareness of good eye care practices.

Our goal, in line with the WHO objectives of Vision 2020, is to work towards eliminating the 75% of cases which result in preventable blindness by 2020

The College represents over 200 eye doctors in Ireland.

Council / Staff / Committee

Honorary Officers of the College

  • President Ms Marie Hickey-Dwyer
  • Vice President Ms Patricia Logan
  • President Elect Mr Billy Power
  • Honorary Treasurer Mr Mark Cahill
  • Honorary Secretary Dr Patricia Quinlan

College Council

The Council of the College are elected for a three year term by the qualifying members of the College

Current members of Council:

  • Dr Yvonne Delaney
  • Mr Philip O Reilly
  • Mr Alison Blake
  • Dr Margaret Pierse
  • Dr Margaret Morgan
  • Dr Iain Harrisson
  • Mr Paul O Brien
  • Mr Paul Connell
  • Mr Paddy Condon
  • Mr Paul Moriarty
  • Dr Denise Curtin, Dean


College Committees

The College has several committees that address the business of the College incl;

  • Manpower, Education & Training Committee; Chair Mr Paul Connell. Committee members; Mr Tim Fulcher, Mr Gerry Fahy, Ms Marie Hickey-Dwyer, Ms Shauna Quinn,  Dr Denise Curtin, Prof Conor Murphy, Ms Yvonne Delaney, Mr John Stokes, Mr Dara Kilmartin
  • Medical Eye Specialists Committee; Chair Dr Alison Blake. Committee members; Dr Marie Houlihan, Dr Tim Horgan, Dr Paddy Condon, Dr Grace O Malley, Dr Catherine McCrann, Dr John Smith, Dr Fiona Kearns, Dr Susan Mullaney, Dr Margaret Morgan, Dr Catherine McCrann, Dr Michele Fenton, Dr Iain Harrison
  • Ethics Committee; Chair Mr Paddy Condon. Committee members; Dr Patricia Quinlan, Prof Louis Collum, Mr Jeremy O Connor, Ms Patricvia McGettrick
  • Scientific Committee; Chair Mr Paul O Brien. Committee members; Prof Colm O Brien, Ms Patricia Logan, Dr Denise Curtin, Dr Fiona Kearns, Mr Eugene Ng
  • Public Affairs Committee; Chair Mr Mark Cahill. Committee members; Ms Kathryn McCreery, Dr Alison Blake, Dr Martin Coyne, Dr Garry Treacy, Dr Darragh O Doherty, Mr Marc Guerin

College Staff